Wednesday, February 28, 2007

New coins, new coins...

Image of Washington $1 coin from U.S. Mint
The U.S. Mint has started a new line of coins, the $1 Presidential Coin. These coins will be released in the order the president's served, so in 2007 we will see Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison.

For those of you who are interested in the state quarters, the 2007 designs are also available online. This year's releases will be Montana, Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, and Utah.

The U.S. Mint was formed in 1792 and is in charge of making all the coinage used in the U.S. They do not produce the paper bills we use, that is done by the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. They make these coins in Philadelphia or Denver (that's why you see a little P or D on all the coins you have).

Want to see coins where coins are made? If you live in Denver or Philadelphia you can, just check out the web site for information. I have been on the Denver tour and it is fun!

No comments:

Post a Comment