Wednesday, July 09, 2008

G-8 tackles greenhouse gas emissions

The G-8 is meeting this week and has released preliminary information on a goal to cut greenhouse gas emissions. Before we look into this I thought it might be nice to explain a little about the G-8.

The G-8 is a group of eight countries, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. The leaders of these eight countries meet once a year to discuss issues on a global scale (as well as having their representatives meet more often on specific issues). Want to learn more about the summit and the G-8, but in a much simpler form? Check out the kid's page, developed by Japan who is hosting this year's summit.

The big agreement to come out of the summit thus far is in regards to countries cutting greenhouse gas emissions. The last major international agreement on greenhouse gas emissions, the Kyoto Protocol, was never ratified by the United States, and focused on getting industrialized countries to cut emissions by 2012 (see web site for more details). The G-8 statement can be found online, but you will notice that while the discussions mentioned a 50% cut this statement does not set specific goals. For more details, such as press conferences and statements, check out the summit web site.

Want to read more about this statement and reactions from developing countries, such as China and India? Check out the Washington Post's "G-8 Conference Tackles Global Warming Treaty: China, India Still Balk at Efforts to Curb Greenhouse Gases."

Want more on climate change? Check out the library's guide.

No comments:

Post a Comment